Forever holding I’ll pray

Drowning in fear
Lighting the heart
Wiping her tear
Never to part

Bending my knees
Seeking with dread
Warming the freeze
Cupping her head

How could they?
Hurt with a glove
Just wanting to play
Our furred love

Each precious pup
Humanity willing to shun
Not to grow up
Never seeing the next sun

Crawl into my lap
To St. Francis I pray
I will cherish you pup
Please live as you lay

Not to die
Not on our watch
Rest and lie
Not another notch

Please dear Lord
Don’t let her pass
Her blood not to be poured
I cry till the last

I love you cur
The rest of your journey I’ll stay
Patting your fur
Forever holding I’ll pray

Leave a Reply

